Getting ready for the new year!

If you've used Cosmos Lessons last year, it may be time for a quick spring clean before the new school year!

We've updated every single unit in the library with end-of-unit tests and much more.

Here's our quick checklist below. We'll then walk you through each step in more detail.

  1. Archive all of last year's subjects on your homepage: this preserves all student work and makes room for this year's cohort.
  2. Create a new subject for each class on the homepage
  3. Browse the library and select one or more units
  4. Make a copy of the lessons 
  5. Release the lessons you want students to see
  6. Invite your students!

1. Archive your subjects

Archiving subjects in Stile is the digital equivalent of filing away a copy of all of your students' workbooks. While you can no longer teach from archived subjects, you and your students can continue to access them in a read-only mode. 

It also cleans up your (and your students') homepage and subjects can be restored at any point.

How is it done?

Click on any subject on the homepage you want to archive and then click on 'Options'. That reveals the 'Archive this subject...' action:

Simply select that for each subject - done!

2. Create a new subject

Simply write your class name in the field provided on the homepage (E.g 'Ms Doherty's Yr 8 Science Class'). Do this for each year level.

3. Adding lesson content to your subject

Now let's add some content from the library. Click on 'Browse the Lesson Library':

You can filter by subject or year level and search by keyword for just the unit you're after. This unit guide might help you find what you're after!

Each picture tile in the library represents a unit in Stile. 

4. Make a copy of the lessons

Once you have found a unit you want to teach, click on 'Teach lessons' to copy them to your subject. 

Now you should be taken to your subject and see all the lessons, like in the picture below.

Handy tip

Read through the model answers PDF to quickly get your head around the unit:

5. Releasing the lessons

By default, all lessons of a unit are released. 

If you don't want to release everything, simply drag the 'Students' tab to control what gets released: everything above it is visible to students, while everything below it is not. As you're dragging the tab, all the lessons that will be visible to students are highlighted in yellow:

Lessons that are a faded green colour are not visible to students.

6. Enrolling your students

You can now share your lessons with your students! Head to the Students tab, connect your computer to the data projector and show students instructions on how to join: 

  1. go to stileapp.com/invite
  2. enter the unique 6-digit code on your screen

After that, they're permanently enrolled in your class. All they need to do is log back into Stile. 

Once enrolled, you can track their progress and leave feedback via the Markbook.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.