Release and hide lessons

Manage which lessons your students can see and work on using the differentiation controls

You have total control over what lessons you want your students to see in each of your subjects on Stile. Using the differentiation controls within each folder, you can quickly and easily assign lessons to whole classes or specific students.

By default, all Stile science lessons will be available to all students except for quizzes and tests, which will be hidden.

Examples of when you would use this feature:

  • You want to hide some lessons to prevent students from jumping ahead;
  • Your students are about to take an end-of-unit test and you want to make it "closed book";
  • You want to release extension work or a differentiated lesson to individual students without everyone seeing the lesson.

Not what you're looking for? Try these resources instead:

 

Step-by-step guide 

You can manage lessons in the following ways.

Click to jump to each step-by-step guide or continue reading below:

  1. Hide all or release all lessons to all students
  2. Hide or release a single lesson
  3. Hide or release multiple lessons at once

 

1. Hide all or release all lessons to all students

ReleaseAllHideAll.png

Every folder now includes a Hide all button. Click it to hide every lesson in that folder from all students.

Next to that is a Release all menu. Click on the menu to reveal the two options.

  • The first option will only release lessons that are not marked as assessments.
  • The second option will release everything in the folder including lessons marked as assessments. (If you are not familiar with the difference, you can learn more about assessments here.) 

 

2. Hide or release a single lesson

DiffControls-availableTo.png

To the right of each lesson's title are the differentiation controls in a column labeled Available to. These are the controls which allow you to select who can see each lesson.

By default, these controls will either appear with a blue icon and the words All students or a grey icon and the words Hidden from students. Each lesson has its own set of controls. In the image above, Introduction and 1.1 Lesson: The building blocks of life are each released to all students in the subject. 1.2 Extension and 1.3 Lesson are each hidden from all students in the subject.


ReleaseSingleLesson.gif

Click on the controls next to the lesson you want to manage and a menu will appear.

  • Tick the box next to All students to release the lesson to every student in the subject. This will fill in every other tick box in the menu, as in the example above.
  • Tick the box next to a specific class to release the lesson to all students within that class. This will fill in every tick box within that specific class.
  • Click on a class to see the list of all students grouped into that class. Tick the box next to a student's name to release the lesson that specific student.

Anyone who is not marked with a blue tick will not be able to see the lesson. This means that to hide the lesson, all you have to do is untick the boxes. Everything you do here is instant, so you won't need to confirm or save any changes.

 

3. Hide or release multiple lessons at once

To the left of each lesson title is a tick box. These boxes allow you to manage multiple lessons at the same time. They do not release the lessons when you tick them. Instead, they reveal a set of differentiation controls that will manage every lesson you tick.

 

ManageMultipleLessons.png

Tick the boxes to the left of lesson titles to select those lessons. Alternatively, tick the box next to Lesson at the top of the column to select every lesson in the folder.

Protip: If you want to select most of the lessons in a folder, tick the top box first and then untick the lessons you don't want to manage.

 

ReleaseMultipleLessons.png

Click on the Release to menu that appears at the top of the lesson list. Select which classes and students to release the lesson to:

  • Tick the box next to All students to release the selected lessons to every student in the subject. This will fill in every other tick box in the menu.
  • Tick the box next to a specific class to release the lesson to all students within that class. This will fill in every tick box within that specific class, as in the example above.
  • Click on a class to see the list of all students grouped into that class. Tick the box next to a student's name to release the lesson that specific student.

Your lessons are now ready to use with your students. 🥳


These resources might be helpful for what you want to do next: