How do I enrol my class in another subject?

In Stile, students are enrolled on a per-subject basis.

If you already have a class in a subject in Stile, and you'd like that class to have access to another subject you created, you'll have to re-enrol them.

For example, you have set up a subject for Term 1 and would like to now enrol the same class(es) in Term 2:

Screenshot_2017-04-05_11.58.23.png

The process to copy the classes over is currently manual:

  1. Copy all students in the original class
  2. Go the the new subject (or create a new one if you haven't already)
  3. Paste the emails into the new subject
  4. Repeat for each class

If you and your students have finished with the old subject (e.g. Term 1 is over) then don't forget to archive it. This will pop the old subject into read-only mode and preserve all of your and your students' work.

If you're not sure how to do that, read on!

Copying students

Stile strips out any information that isn't an email address, so you can just copy everything on the original class page (it should look something like the the screenshot above).

The easiest way to do that is with two keyboard shortcuts:

  1. Ctrl+A (Cmd+C on Macs) to select everything on the page
  2. Ctrl + C (Cmd+C on Macs to copy

All the students are now in the clipboard

The new subject

If you haven't already, create a new subject on the home page:

Screenshot_2017-04-05_12.09.26.png

Then click on it and head to the 'Students' page:

Screenshot_2017-04-05_12.25.04.png


Pasting in the email addresses

On the 'Students' page, scroll down to reveal the 'Add via email' section.

Then just right-click on the white box and select 'Paste':

Screenshot_2017-04-05_12.28.52.png

This will paste everything on the previous page, but don't worry — Stile will strip out everything except the email addresses!

Just click on 'Add students' to enrol your class:

Screenshot_2017-04-05_12.29.52.png

Working with multiple classes

If you're working with more than just one class, you can always click the grey 'Add class' button as shown above. By default, that will create two classes:

  • Students
  • Class B

You can rename them to whatever you like by clicking the 'Rename class' button:

Screenshot_2017-04-05_12.37.13.png

To find out more about working with multiple classes, take a look at this article.

Archive the old subject

As mentioned earlier, if you and your students have finished with the old subject (e.g. Term 1 is over) then don't forget to archive it. This will pop the old subject into read-only mode and preserve all of your and your students' work.

Don't worry - nothing is lost! You can unarchive subjects at any point – it just cleans up your (and your students') home page.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.